(+84) 463.28.7979

Want to Kill Your Online Persona?


Guest post by Kathy Wilson.
Lexicographers are adding new words to the English language every day, thanks to Twitter, Facebook and many of the other phenomena that are sweeping the online world – we now have cool terms like “unfriend” and “retweet” to add to our already impressive vocabulary. But then, a few other words seem to be disappearing or having no business whatsoever in today’s Internet-oriented world, one of them being “privacy”. Very soon we’re going to have people asking “What is that?” if we ever mention the term “privacy”, and we have only ourselves to blame for this.

We live online 24/7; we never turn off our computers and we’re always connected to the Internet; we have 457 friends, all of whom know our likes, dislikes, personality, character, and even what we’re thinking about every hour of the day. This means that we have less time for our families and real time friends, the ones who we see and interact with every day. Some of us are so addicted to the net that we don’t get any work done and get into habits that are destructive and even illegal. We may want to quit this addiction, but the problem with the net is that it so pervasive and vast – you may delete your mail accounts and the profiles on your social networks, but some data and information is always left behind. If you’re wondering how to get rid of every single trace of you on the net, here’s a way out – Web 2.0 Suicide Machine.

The application allows you to delete every trace of yourself on social networks like Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and others of their ilk. All you have to do is provide your login id and password, and through a small virtual window on your screen, you can see yourself being annihilated, slowly but steadily. All your information, photographs and messages are wiped out from your pages, and hopefully from the servers of these social networking service providers.

web 2.0 suicide machine promotion from moddr_ on Vimeo.

As of now, Facebook has blocked the IP address of this application, so if you’re on FB and want to commit online suicide, you’re going to have to do it the hard way. But as far as other social networks are concerned, you can outsource your bid to die online and end up getting your (real) life back.

While most people are not in a rush to get out of the online world, Suicide Machine claims that it has deleted 52,000 people from Facebook and 1,75,000 from Twitter. So if you want to be among these statistics, here’s your chance to do so. However, you should know that if you plan to leave a suicide note for your hundreds of online friends, it will be deleted too along with the rest of your information in a matter of minutes, so unless they’re constantly online, it’s going to be lost in the tons of information that rolls down their social network pages every day.

This article is written by Kathy Wilson, who writes on the subject of Photography Colleges. She can be reached at her email id: kathywilson1983@gmail.com. You can also write a guest article and share tools which you like.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>